Lectures: presentations and readings

The Dolomites (Trento)

Topics and readings

The lists of topics and readings may be subject to minor changes and adjustments during the semester.

Required readings, together with class lectures and presentations, include all the topics covered in the exam. Suggested readings may be used to research the topics and subtopics of the paper or to pursue personal interests.

The importance of each topic or reading is indicated with 0-3 stars:

  • = absolutely necessary (approx. 60% of exam questions from these topics);
  • = very important (approx. 30% of exam questions from these topics);
  • = valuable (approx. 10% of exam questions from these topics);
  • no star = not essential (no exam questions or just bonus questions from these topics).

Units

General Introduction: issues in modern Italy and in Italian civilization (0-1)

Topics and readings for units 0-1

Presentations used in class:

Top

Historical overview of Italian civilization (2-3)

Topics and readings for units 2-3

Presentations used in class:

Top

Ancient civilizations in Italy (4-5)

Topics and readings for units 4-5

Presentations used in class:

  • Unit 4, topics 1-3 (The Etruscans, from the past to the present)
  • Unit 4, topics 4-5 (The Indo-Europeans; Greeks, Carthaginians, Gauls, Sabines in ancient Italy, and their connection to Roman civilization)
  • Unit 4, topics 6-8 (Aeneas and the foundational myths of the Romans; Greeks, Sabines, Carthaginians, Gauls in ancient Italy)

Top

The history of Roman civilization (6-8)

Topics and readings for units 6-8

Presentations used in class:

Top

Facts and legends of the Roman Empire (9-11)

Topics and readings for units 9-11

Presentations used in class:

Top

Transitioning into the Middle Ages (12-14)

Topics and readings for units 12-14

Presentations used in class:

Top

Audio and video recordings

Audio and video recordings of all lectures

  1. Monday, January 26, 2009
  2. Wednesday, January 28, 2009
  3. Monday, February 02, 2009
  4. Wednesday, February 04, 2009
  5. Monday, February 09, 2009
  6. Wednesday, February 11, 2009
  7. Monday, February 16, 2009 (screen video feed not available)
  8. Wednesday, February 18, 2009
  9. Monday, February 23, 2009
  10. Wednesday, February 25, 2009
  11. Monday, March 02, 2009
    • no class on this day
  12. Wednesday, March 04, 2009
  13. Monday, March 09, 2009
  14. Wednesday, March 11, 2009
  15. Monday, March 16, 2009
  16. Wednesday, March 18, 2009
  17. Monday, March 23, 2009
  18. Wednesday, March 25, 2009
  19. Monday, March 30, 2009
  20. Wednesday, April 01, 2009
  21. Monday, April 13, 2009
  22. Wednesday, Apr. 15: virtual lecture (see announcements)
  23. Monday, April 20, 2009
  24. Wednesday, April 22, 2009
  25. Monday, April 27, 2009
  26. Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Top

Slideshows

Site Navigation

 
hui216_09/lectures.txt · Last modified: 2010/04/26 09:06 by afedi
 
Recent changes RSS feed Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki